Guide To The Healthiest Vegan Vitamin B12 Sources

Tempeh

Dreamstime

Tempeh is a vegan protein and source of vitamin B12 and a vital staple in many vegan kitchens. It's especially vital for vegans who don't like the texture of tofu and need a substitute. Most individuals get their protein and vitamin B12 from meat and dairy products, but vegans need to get theirs in nuts and other plant-based sources. Tempeh is a soy-based product, so it's not good for those who have soy intolerances. If individuals don't have any issues with soy, though, tempeh is a versatile enough ingredient to be used in most dishes. If a recipe calls for meat, tempeh tends to be an acceptable substitute. To make tempeh, cooked soybeans are fermented and then formed into a firm and dense cake. The flavor tends to be strong and nutty. In addition, it can soak up flavors from the surrounding dish, so it always tastes like it goes with the other ingredients.

Get more information on sources of vitamin B12 for vegans now.

BACK
(8 of 10)
NEXT
BACK
(8 of 10)
NEXT

MORE FROM GoodHealthFix

    MORE FROM GoodHealthFix

      MORE FROM GoodHealthFix